Historical Events  Religion
The 4 horsemen of the Apocalypse

War, Death, Famine and Pestilence

War, Death, Famine and Conquer

White, red, black and pale horses

The Book of Revelation describes the Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse, and most people know they are War, Death, Famine and Pestilence.

Wait ... one of those is now wrong, and it's being pointed to as another bible Mandela Effect change.

The one in question is Pestilence, which is now Conquer, although there is some discussion about this being acknowledged and them being the same, as if things weren't confusing enough.

The chapter tells of a book, or scroll, in God's right hand that is sealed with seven seals. The Lamb of God opens the first four of the seven seals, which summons four beings that ride out on white, red, black, and pale horses.


In X-Men, when Apocalypse gathers his four horsemen, it is Death, War, Famine and Pestilence. Pestilence is apparently in the older versions, and the modern one is Conquest.

Originally, there were just descriptions of the 4 horses with none of the associations attributed to them - nor horsemen, in fact.

Here's how it appears in The Book of Revelation:

Revelation 6:1 And I saw when the Lamb opened one of the seals, and I heard, as it were the noise of thunder, one of the four beasts saying, Come and see.

Revelation 6:2 And I saw, and behold a white horse: and he that sat on him had a bow; and a crown was given unto him: and he went forth conquering, and to conquer.

Revelation 6:3 And when he had opened the second seal, I heard the second beast say, Come and see.

Revelation 6:4 And there went out another horse that was red: and power was given to him that sat thereon to take peace from the earth, and that they should kill one another: and there was given unto him a great sword.